Day Three Hundred Sixty-five

I Did It!

I completed my resolution to take a daily walk in 2013. Well, I should say that I walked almost every day in 2013, including today.

This morning, I got out of bed early to bid my husband a good last day of work in 2013. After he left, I was looking east out my kitchen window. As I watched the sky gradually take on a pretty pink glow, I decided to do my walking on the last day of 2013 as I did on the first: an early morning walk through the neighborhood.

Determined not to focus too much on the fact that the temperature was only 2º F, I added an extra layer, zipped my camera inside my jacket, and headed out, hoping to catch the sunrise. I actually left too early, so I took a few pre-sunrise pictures instead. The sun popped up only after my return home, and I waited for it in the warmth of my kitchen.

Sunrise New Year's Eve Day

12.31.13

While I was waiting, I took a selfie, as I did back on Day One. That day, I was bundled up before heading out for a walk. Today, it was after a walk, and I was very cold. Cold but happy.

Good day, good walk!

Postscript: People have been asking me if I’ll continue walking now that the year is done. Yes, I plan to keep walking, but I’ll spare the reader and not write about the boring ones! I’ll spare myself having to keep track of what numbered day of the year it is!

Leave a Reply

