Day Three Hundred Forty-one

IMG_2212Brr

It was awfully cold for walking today, but the bright sunny afternoon encouraged me enough to bundle up, grab the camera, and head out. My youngest son joined me.

I wanted to see if the great blue heron that I saw last week in Matteson, Illinois, was still around. We parked again at the village hall and headed over I-57 on Village Commons Drive. I saw a group of robins in the trees next to the paved bike/pedestrian lane, and one actually posed nicely for me. I wonder why these robins are still around, because I would be far south by now if I were them.Matteson Heron IIIf I were a heron, I’d be long gone by now too, but I saw two great blues today and one earlier this week. I hope these giant favorites of mine have a plan, because we’re in the middle of a big cold snap.Matteson HeronGood winter walk–only a couple of weeks left in 2013 and this resolution!

4 thoughts on “Day Three Hundred Forty-one

Leave a Reply

