Day Three Hundred Fifteen

An Oak Forest in Oak Forest (Illinois)

With our weather forecast showing dropping temperatures and rain turning to snow, we headed out fairly early for a walk this morning. My youngest son was off of school today for the Veteran’s Day holiday, so he and I headed to the Midlothian Reservoir in Oak Forest, Illinois.

We walked along the paved Blue Trail and then deep into the woods on the unpaved Yellow Trail of this Cook County Forest Preserve. Evidence suggested that this trail is used frequently for horseback riding, but we did not see any horses. In fact, but for a couple of deer and one jogger, we had the whole place to ourselves.

Oak forest in Oak ForestI’m pretty sure we’re past-peak as fall colors go, yet there was still actually some color and even some green left in these woods! I was also surprised to find a marshy pond in the middle of the woods, and I saw a great blue heron land on the other side of the water.

Oak forest in Oak Forest 2We ended up walking farther than I had planned, because I must have missed the turn-off that would have allowed us to loop around. Instead, we retraced our steps and came out the way we went in. Unfortunately with this delay, we got caught in a little rain, but with my camera tucked safely inside my rain-resistant jacket we were able to get back without getting too wet. I couldn’t resist pulling my camera out once though for a quick picture of a large hanging wasp nest!

Thank you, veterans, for your service.

2 thoughts on “Day Three Hundred Fifteen

Leave a Reply

