Day Three Hundred Ten

“They said hey, Sugar, take a walk on the wild side” . . .

. . . was the first melodic thing that came out of my mouth when I heard about the passing of Lou Reed last week. I was nine when this song was released in 1972, so it’s basically been around since I got my first transistor radio. (Thankfully, back then I simply thought the song was a little strange and didn’t realize that there are some fairly “adult-themed” lyrics.)

It got me thinking about other songs with a walking theme. Some of the following songs I thought of myself; some I got from the website whosangthatsong.com, but recognized them enough to sing them as I saw them:

  • “I Took a Walk” Passion Pit
  • “Walk” Foo Fighters
  • “Walking on Sunshine” Katrina and the Waves
  • “Walk of Life” Dire Straights
  • “Walk this Way” Aerosmith
  • “Walk on” U2
  • “Walking on the Moon” The Police

Got any other favorites?

(In case you haven’t figured it out by now, I didn’t walk today–too rainy and too much to do. I’ll try to make it up.)

2 thoughts on “Day Three Hundred Ten

  1. These boots are made for walking . Nancy Sinatra.
    At the end of my year of walking I was planning on putting some of my photos together with a walking themed soundtrack. So your songs are useful tips. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

