Day Three Hundred Four

I didn’t walk today. I spent the time catching up. I also spent time remembering a friend at her funeral.

She was a fellow swim mom and fellow home school mom. We’d lost touch over the past several years as our kids went their different ways. I’d run into her on occasion around town or at the grocery store, and we’d catch up. I wish I had called or visited her when I heard she was sick. But I hadn’t.

The best I could do today was to comfort her family and attend her funeral, to pay my respects to a quiet, hospitable, Christian woman that died, according to our earthly standards, much too soon. She was 54.

Her family will miss her dearly, but they know she’s in heaven, a far better place. I pray for them as they continue to go on without her. I hope they find comfort in the Lord and each other. I hope they find solace in the words of the old hymn we sang at her funeral:

Great is thy faithfulness, oh God my Father; there is no shadow of turning with thee; thou changest not, thy compassions, they fail not; as thou hast been thou forever wilt be.

Great is thy faithfulness! Great is thy faithfulness! Morning by morning new mercies I see; all I have needed thy hand hath provided. Great is thy faithfulness, Lord, unto me!

Summer and winter and springtime and harvest, Sun, moon, and stars in their courses above. Join with all nature in manifold witness. To thy great faithfulness, mercy, and love.

Leave a Reply

