Day Two Hundred Seventy-two

I Tried

Sometimes a walking plan comes together, and sometimes it doesn’t. Unfortunately, today’s walk didn’t work out as I had planned, but there were a few bright spots.

After spending some time on the Cook County Forest Preserve’s website recently, I’ve read several things about Thatcher Woods and the Hal Tyrrell Trailside Museum in River Forest, Illinois, and decided to check it out. On the drive over, I also decided to stop at historic Columbus Park on the border of Chicago and Oak Park. The entire drive took awhile, and I arrived at the Trailside Museum later than I had estimated.

The museum is housed in a Victorian mansion and was the original Forest Preserve nature center. It sits near the Des Plaines River on the edge of Thatcher Woods, a large wooded preserve.

Outside of the museum, there were rescued animals:  a great-horned owl, a red-tailed hawk, a fox, and a coyote. I enjoyed seeing these, but my visit went downhill from there, because I couldn’t figure out where I wanted to walk.

(I got my bearings wrong. I thought that Thatcher Woods was only to the north of the museum, but what I wanted to see was actually south of the museum. Oops. Looking back, I should have just walked in the nearby neighborhood; the houses are old and absolutely gorgeous. Chalk one up for walker’s regret.)

I headed to the main section of Thatcher Woods, north of the museum, and figured I would walk there. Unfortunately, I saw few people around (except for a man watching me from his creepy panel van). So I got back in the car and tried another spot. That didn’t work either. By this point, I had wasted so much time getting there and looking around that I was out of time. It was time to go back.

Even though I didn’t actually walk much, I’m giving myself credit, because I tried, and I can. I’ll plan better next time.

One thought on “Day Two Hundred Seventy-two

Leave a Reply

