Day Two Hundred Sixty-six

Don’t Feed the Ducks, Folks

The lawn mower refuses to start, despite the best attempts of the Lawn Whisperer.

When my husband (a.k.a. the Lawn Whisperer) asked me to get it fixed, I knew where to take it. The question was: could I find a nearby interesting place to walk? Using Google Maps bicycle overlay for the area, I found that the Village of Oak Lawn has a nature preserve, The Wolfe State Wildlife Refuge, that includes a pond with a path around it and a creek with an adjacent path continuing into the nearby neighborhoods.

After dropping off the mower and driving the short distance to the preserve, I was surprised how crowded it was, but many of the people were at the playground that is also on the property. I grabbed my camera and headed off on the path.

Despite the fact that the water was rather icky and debris littered the woods, the path itself was nice. It even had lighting. On the bridge over the creek, I could see fish and turtles. From a path that led right to the water’s edge I could see a large group of mallards.

Wolfe State Wildlife Refuge

IMG_1304

As I wandered around the other side of the pond, I could hear the ducks making a lot of noise. When I took a closer look, I noticed that a man was feeding them from one spot, and a mom and toddler were feeding them from another.

I could have sworn that I passed a sign that said not to feed the ducks and wandered back around to verify.

Why do people think that rules don’t apply to them?

It drives me nuts, but I still had a nice walk.

Leave a Reply

