Day Two Hundred Fifty

Great Spot!

IMG_1161

We traveled to Channahon, Illinois, again today and walked along the Illinois & Michigan Canal trail near the point where the DuPage River joins the Des Plaines River. (I walked part of this trail just a couple of days ago on my walk-reconnaissance mission.) We had great walking weather, but my youngest son would have preferred more shade, because the sun makes him “tired.” (See picture below, left).

My husband has been having some back problems lately and hasn’t been able to join us on our weekend walks lately, but did join us today.  He moved more slowly than usual and lagged behind us at times (see below, right), but at least he’s back.

I & M Channahon McKinley Woods 2The I & M Canal and the trail bend south in Channahon, and the trail runs directly between the DuPage River to the east and the I & M to the west. All this water, of course, attracts the birds.  We saw red-headed woodpeckers, great blue herons, great egrets, and a solitary green heron. I loved it.

I & M Channahon McKinley WoodsAfter reading WordPress’ most recent Weekly Photo Challenge about finding an unusual point of view, I took the following pictures along the way:

I & M Channahon McKinley Woods POVAlthough I enjoyed taking the pictures (and they are definitely from a different perspective than most of my pictures), I think I’ll try again on a different walk to post something for the challenge.

Great walk today!

9 thoughts on “Day Two Hundred Fifty

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: An Unusual POV (size of man) | What's (in) the picture?

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Unusual POV | Pilot Fish

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Unusual POV | Joe's Musings

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: An Unusual POV, #4: Proud o’ my wheels | Rob's Surf Report

  5. Pingback: Resting – Zermatt, Switzerland | alternative.reality

  6. Pingback: WB Yeats in Sligo, Ireland | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

