Day Two Hundred Thirty-four

An  Umbrella, An Egret, and Lucky Timing

I really needed to get a walk in today.  So even though the rain hadn’t exactly stopped, my son and I drove to the Village Hall in Matteson, Illinois, hoisted the umbrella, walked around their lovely grounds (complete with barn swallows and swamp rose mallows), and continued up over I-57 on a dedicated bike and pedestrian lane.

Matteson Bridge

We have walked here before, but today I was on the lookout for herons and egrets in the marshy areas next to the pathway.

We were in luck. A white egret was walking and flying around the entire time we were walking by.  By the neck posture and size, I’m guessing it was a Great Egret.

Matteson Egret

I’m just glad the rain stopped by this time so that I could take down the umbrella and snap some pictures!

Good day, good walk!

Leave a Reply

