Day Two Hundred Twenty-five

Yellow, Green, and a Great Blue

Today, my son and I walked along yet another section of the Illinois & Michigan Canal, in Rockdale, Illinois.  We saw three other mammals, two of them human bikers and the third a woodchuck, more interested in eating than in getting away from us.

I & M Canal TowpathI found the yellow flowers along the canal and on the canal itself especially striking along this section.

I & M Yellow FlowersWe also saw several water birds today: green herons, a belted kingfisher, and a great blue heron who continuously tried to get away from us each time I would raise my camera for a picture. He moved along the canal ahead of us until he finally agreed to pose atop a tree across the canal.
I & M Canal-HeronGood day, good walk!

Leave a Reply

