Day One Hundred Ninety-eight

Morning Walk

I often used to walk in the morning in the summer.  If the sun was up, I was usually up too.  Plus, I thought it was easier to walk in the morning, get cleaned up, and then start the rest of my day.  This summer though has been fairly cool, and I’ve gotten in the habit of walking with my youngest son during the day or by myself in the evenings.

There have a few mornings this summer where it may have worked better to walk in the morning, but I had trouble motivating myself.  The excessive heat and humidity these past few days has given me no choice but to set aside my sedentary morning routine of emails, coffee, and television news this morning, and get my keister out for a walk.

I had forgotten how much I like watching the commuters running for the train and the runners finishing up their jogs. I had forgotten the wonderful smells wafting out of the bakery.  I had forgotten how active the birds are in the morning.  I really should walk in the morning more often!

Good morning, good walk!

Leave a Reply

