Day One Hundred Seventy-one

Silver LindenOde to a Tree Species

I could smell them the minute I stepped out this morning to get the paper.  The silver lindens are in bloom, and although we don’t have any on our property, there are enough in the neighborhood to smell them everywhere.  And that’s a good thing.

I noticed them twice today, on two different walks.  On the first, I walked through town to the bank, post office, and bakery.  Silver lindens line this downtown area and grow right in the sidewalk area with a grate around them.

I love this row of trees.  In the winter, the village puts white lights in all of these trees, making the town festive and inviting on long winter nights.  In the summer, these trees provide shade for walkers on their way to restaurants and other businesses.  While these trees are in bloom, it makes it even more pleasant.

On my way home from town, I snapped a picture of a large parkway silver linden.  I think it may be time to plant one on our property.

On my second walk my youngest son and I, after running an errand, parked at the Matteson Village Hall and walked in the pedestrian and bike lane over I-57.  The adjacent area is lovely wetlands and prairie.  The last two times we walked in this area, it was really cold.  Today, at high noon, it was downright hot.

Matteson Village Hall and BridgeOn the way to and from the car, I noticed yet another grove of silver lindens–not by sight at first, but by smell.  The nose knows!

Good day, good walk!

Leave a Reply

