Day One Hundred Sixty-two

I did not go far enough today.

I cannot, in good conscience, call any of my trips from here to there, a walk.

Instead, I’d like to share some quotes I found about walking:

“All truly great thoughts are conceived while walking.” ― Friedrich Nietzsche, Twilight of the Idols

“I like long walks, especialy when they are taken by people who annoy me.” ― Noël Coward

“But the beauty is in the walking — we are betrayed by destinations.” ― Gwyn Thomas

“If you seek creative ideas go walking. Angels whisper to a man when he goes for a walk.” ― Raymond I. Myers

“If I could not walk far and fast, I think I should just explode and perish.” ― Charles Dickens

From a book I may just need to read:

“Your own exploration therefore has to be personalized; you’re doing it for yourself, increasing your own store of particular knowledge, walking your own eccentric version of the city. ” ― Geoff Nicholson, The Lost Art of Walking

And possibly my favorite:

“[Walking] is the perfect way of moving if you want to see into the life of things. It is the one way of freedom. If you go to a place on anything but your own feet you are taken there too fast, and miss a thousand delicate joys that were waiting for you by the wayside.” ― Elizabeth von Arnim, The Adventures of Elizabeth in Rügen

Good day, good quoting!

One thought on “Day One Hundred Sixty-two

Leave a Reply

