Day One Hundred Forty

Night Walk Photography Lesson

I didn’t get a chance to walk today until the evening.  I thought it might be a good time to take my new camera with me and attempt to take some photos with less than ideal lighting.

IMG_0169

Our town has one lit baseball field for night games.  Since I could hear the game from our back yard, I thought that I’d walk toward the lights.  From our house, this means heading first towards the commuter train station to go under the railroad tracks and then through a park with two unlit ball fields.

Park in the Evening

IMG_0174

Once at the game, I felt a little conspicuous taking pictures of children that I didn’t know, so I kept my distance.  With my automatic flash
off, my camera kept warning me:  “Flash disabled.  Note:  Dark scenes prone to camera shake.”  Canon is correct.  Combine my efforts to be swift and inconspicuous with the poor lighting, I was prone to making my camera shake, and the photo shows it.

Lesson learned.

My favorite picture of the evening sort of worked.  I took it in the park, along the unlit baseball fields, on my way back home.

IMG_0175Good day, good walk!  Good pictures?

.

Leave a Reply

