Day One Hundred Fourteen

Back to a Favorite Spot, AgainI-571

After school, my son and I went walking on the Old Plank Trail, a paved bike and walking trail converted from a railroad line.  Even though I haven’t met my goal yet to walk this entire 21 mile trail, we went back to the most convenient section (which also happens to be my favorite section).  This part of the trail runs under I-57 and goes through a prairie nature preserve and some farmland.

Spring, 20133

I thought that spring would have changed the scenery more from my January blog picture at the top. Instead, I couldn’t help but notice all the puddles due to the record-setting rainfall we’ve received here in the Midwest.

The trail was mostly dry and despite the cool weather, we really had a nice walk.  After a stressful afternoon at school, my son, who has autism spectrum disorder, noticeably relaxed as we walked quietly together with only the birds for company.

Good day, good walk!

Leave a Reply

