Day One Hundred Nine

Word of the Day:  graupel.

This snow-pellet and rain mix that was intermittently falling from the sky or blowing sideways in bone-chilling gusts was enough to discourage me from heading out for a long walk today.

I was curious, however, to see if water levels were down in town after Thursday’s floods, so I took a quick walk to look around.  The water level in the retention area of the park was way down, but the bus lot at my son’s junior high was still quite flooded.

IMG_20130418_145520The flooding of this lot really disrupts traffic flow before and after school.  When I start to grumble about this, I chide myself, because we’re hearing more and more stories, both on the news and first hand, of folks with rainwater or even sewage in their basements.  I think I can put up with a little traffic disruption–without grumbling.

Good day, good walk.

Leave a Reply

