Day Twenty-eight

Learning while Walking

Time of Walk:  2:00 PM

Temperature:  49° F (Felt like 45°)

Weather:  Partly sunny

On the headphones:  audio book, The Worst Hard Time by Timothy Egan

Busy day.  I had limited time for a walk, so I stayed in my neighborhood.  During today’s walk, I went back to listening to the audio book, The Worst Hard Time by Timothy Egan.  I became interested in this book after watching The Dust Bowl on PBS last fall.

The segment I listened to today recounted more of the history of the Oklahoma panhandle.  I didn’t realize that this land was actually part of Texas, but when the state was admitted to the Union, that rectangle (only 35 miles by 210 miles) could not be included because of the Missouri Compromise.  This compromise stated that no new slave state could be admitted to the union above 36.5° latitude.  So they basically cut this rectangle loose–it was considered a no man’s land anyhow.

I was likely taught all of this in school, but probably wasn’t paying attention.  Like they say, education is wasted on the youth.

Good day, good walk.

Leave a Reply

