Day Twenty

IMG_20130120_121831

Time of Walk:  12:15 PM

Temperature:  21° F (Felt like a very cold 16°)

Weather:  Mostly Cloudy and Windy

My husband and youngest son joined me in walking from about Mile 1.25 to Mile 2.0 (and back) on the Old Plank Road Trail (a bike and walking trail converted from a railway line).  I’ve been walking on this trail quite a bit this year and am trying to eventually cover the entire trail.  I had been both east and west of today’s section and was glad to take care of this missing piece.

IMG_20130120_122813

Despite all of the layers, the hat, the neck gaiter, and double gloves (including the inner ones that I can use on my phone!), I got very cold walking today.  It brought back childhood memories of Michigan winters.  As a kid, I spent a lot of time outside, even in the winter.  I walked a ways to the school bus stop, we had three recesses a day in grade school, and as a family we had fairly regular sledding and ice skating outings.  Although I have never enjoyed the cold, the exercise and fresh air were, and still are, undoubtedly a good thing.

Good day, good walk.

Leave a Reply

