Day Eight

Time of Walk:  2:15  PM

Temperature:  40° F (Felt like 30°)

Weather:  Sunny

On the Headphones:  audio book The Worst Hard Time by Timothy Egan

Winter is not my favorite season.  There, I said it.  I consider myself a positive person, however, and try to make positive statements like, “A good thing about winter is that my pop stays cold when I leave it in the car!”

No matter how hard I try though, there are two things that I cannot be positive about in the winter:  hat-hair and fogged-up glasses.  They are the worst.

And yet today, I made the mistake of not wearing a hat.

After running some errands and sweating in the sun-filled car, I  thought I could skip the hat today on my walk.  Instead, the wind, gentle as it was, chilled my non-hat-hair head and neck as I worked my way around the neighborhood.  I finished the walk alright, but I won’t make that mistake again.  I’d rather have the hat-hair.

I started a new audio book, The Worst Hard Time, on my walk.  The author, Timothy Egan, speaks as a historical expert on the Ken Burns’ documentary, The Dust Bowl, that was on PBS recently.  I found this documentary fascinating and thought I’d give this National Book Award winner a try.

Good day, good walk.

Leave a Reply

